When it comes to medical marijuana products, it shows that the qualification for one to use marijuana has caused each state to have laws. Is marijuana legal in Florida? That is one question which is asked by those living in Florida. The truth of the matter is that, between legalization, medical marijuana, and decriminalization, it is at times hard to keep track which laws apply in which state. It is mainly due to the different constitutional amendments and ballot measures which keep popping up.
The Medical Marijuana law in Florida
There was a legislative law which was passed in 2016, the amendment 2, which legalized the use of marijuana for those people who had debilitating diseases or diseases which were debilitating according to the state physician recommendation and which started being used from January 3, 2017.
The Florida Marijuana Statutes
Under this law, if you are found in possession of less than 20 grams, it is considered as a 1stmisdemeanor, and it attracts a one-year jail term. If you are found with over 20 grams to 25 lbs, but less than 300 grams, you will be jailed for five years plus a fine. If it is more than 25 lbs, it is considered as trafficking and classified as a 1st-degree felony. In case you are gotten selling marijuana, it is considered a 3rd-degree felony unless it is less than 20 g, then it is considered a 1st-degree misdemeanor and attracts a fine of $775,082, 083, 084 and a 15 year jail term.
If you are caught trafficking marijuana, of between 25 – 2000 lbs, you will have to pay a fine of $25,000 and a 3 year jail term; if you are trafficking between 2000 – 10,000 lbs, then you will have to pay a fine of $50,000 and a 7 year jail term; for trafficking over 10,000 lbs, you will pay $200,000 and a face a jail term of 15 years.